RSS

Doctors, Part 2

08 Jan

So today I went to see the other Naturopath.  The appointment didn’t start out well…he was 35 minutes late and I was about to walk out the door.  Add on top of that the fact that his office was small, verging on the edge of being outdated, in comparison to the other docs office which was top of the line, and I just wasn’t sure how good he was going to be.  I was a little ticked going into the office, but I was glad that I didn’t fly off the handle.  🙂

One of the first things we did was look over my colonoscopy pictures.  The doc looked at them, and said, “whoa….I don’t want to scare you….but that’s really bad.”  I just said, “really?”  Apparently, my inflammation in the colon is pretty severe.  (Probably why the GI doc wanted to put me right away on Imuran and not mess with the 5-MP drugs!) 

Anyway….I do love honesty.  Tell me the truth, and then I can move on and deal with it.

This doctor was much easier to talk with.  I felt I could ask my questions, without it being a burden on him.  He wanted to inform, and educate, me.  I like that.  I want to learn.  I want t know, as much as I can, why my body is doing what it’s doing and what we can do to help it.

Back to the Crohn’s in me:

A few things I learned from this appointment is that the auto-immune response in Crohn’s can be caused by a food or allergy trigger, or it could have been caused by an infection and now that the infection is gone your body can’t turn off the immune response.  It is not always just that your immune system has decided to attack itself.  (Which, to me says this:  why should I take a drug that will suppress the immune system when only 3 out of 4 people actually have Crohn’s where this is the issue?  What if I’m the one that it isn’t JUST my immune system, but I could be helped by looking at other things as well???)  There could be a very good reason why your immune system went out of whack.  And, if you can narrow down what the original trigger was, you can try to eliminate it, which is one of the first steps.

After you narrow down what might have caused the response (in other words…let’s say it’s a food allergy that sent your system out of whack.  take that food out, your system no longer has that as a trigger, and then you can try to heal your system and retrain it), you can then start to work on repairing the intestinal tract.  Part of that is digestive enzymes to help you digest your food better.  Another part is anti-inflammatory supplements.  And another part is certain supplements that help to actually repair your gut. 

It makes some sense to me.  A bit more than the GI doctor (he seemed to have blinders labeled with “DRUGS ONLY” on his eyes). 

This doc DOES at times use the major drugs with his Crohn’s patients.  Those are the people who are so badly inflamed though that they need to get the initial inflammation under control before they can start the healing process.

But I like the narrowing down process.  We will check for food allergies to see if there is a trigger there (Yay…no more guessing!).  We will also do a full stool panel to see what microbes are in the gut and in what quantity.  We’ll also do more blood tests (ugh!!!) to test for inflammatory levels, hormone levels, and a few other things.

Overall, I like this doc, and I’m think I’m going to go with this doctor.  His office wasn’t fancy, but I believe that gems can be hidden in the most unlikely place.  On top of all of that, he has active Crohn’s.  To me, that is very important because he KNOWS this disease.  I’ve also heard he is very curious, so if something is not working, he won’t just say, “oh well!” and move on.

I truly liked though being able to ask my questions, learn, and not be made to feel bad about having informed questions and taking my health in my own hands, per se.

Stay tuned, as I journey further along this natural path!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

2 responses to “Doctors, Part 2

  1. Anonymous

    January 9, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Hi! I found your blog on Healingwell. I was also diagnosed with Crohn’s this past year. I’m interested in trying the natural route, but when I was diagnosed, I was so sick and in the hospital for a month and out of work, so I apprehensively agreed to try Remicade since steroids weren’t working and I was so sick and miserable.

    I’m scared of staying on Remicade for long, plus my husband and I would like to try and have kids this year, and if I can get off Remicade during pregnancy, I would like to. We’ll see.

    How did you find your naturopath?

    I look forward to following your journey. Are you on SCD now or the Maker’s Diet?

    Hope all is well.

     
  2. newfoundsun

    January 9, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Hi there! I’m glad you found this blog. I hope it can give you some hope! My first thought is that, if you are so sick that you can’t function in life, the drugs are likely necessary just so you can live life. I know a friend who needed them for about 6 months, she was so bad. But after she was able to get on her feet and do all she needed to do in life, she went off the drugs. I talked with my Naturopath about this, and he (the ND) has patients who are treating Crohn’s mostly in natural ways, but if things get way out of hand, they go on drugs for a short amount of time until the flare ends.

    I found my Naturopath by posting my Crohn’s on facebook, and I got 3 good recommendations from friends. I have gone to two of them, and will decide which I want to go with. 🙂

    Yes, I am on mostly the SCD, but I use the diet in “Guts to Glory” to teach me about safe and unsafe foods.

     

Leave a Reply

 
