RSS

Chicken Soup

11 Jan

It truly is amazing how one can eat chicken soup day in and day out, and still never get tired of it.  Both Rubin and SCD have a recipe for Chicken Soup, and highly tout it’s ability to help.  I started on Rubin’s broth, called “Brasco Broth” back in November.  And I will say that I’ve eaten it at least once a day since then.  You would think that I would get sick of it.  And there are times when I can hardly stomach the idea of eating another bowl.  But as soon as I taste a bite, I remember how good it is (and it’s not just me as a cook either!).  Since this is a staple of my diet, I am glad that I’m not bored of it yet.

So, here is the recipe that I use, modified just a bit for me.  It is borrowed from Jordin Rubin’s book “Guts to Glory” and is called Brasco Broth there.  I think you can google the name of the soup and find the exact recipe, but this is how I make it:

  • Start with a big ‘ol pot (it will need to be big…I use a 12 quart pot and it fills it half way full by the time I’m done!)
  • Dice up three yellow or white onions and put them in the bottom of the pot
  • Dice and add 6 stalks of celery, 8 carrots, 2 zucchini, and as much garlic as you want (5 or more cloves)
  • Peel, grate, and add fresh ginger until you have a pile about 4 inches long
  • Take one 4-5 pound whole chicken (minus the innards), wrap it in cheese-cloth, and place on top of everything
  • Add about 3 tablespoons coconut oil 
  • Sprinkle 2-4 tablespoons course sea salt (use less if it is not course)
  • Add 3 quarts of water and,
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

Bring everything to a boil, and then reduce heat to a simmer.  Cook all of this on a low simmer for at least 4 hours.  The more you cook it, the better it will be for you.  When you are about 30 minutes from wanting it to be done, take the chicken out and let it cool.  Meanwhile, chop up a good sized handful of fresh parsley and add that into the soup to cook for 30 minutes.  De-bone the chicken and add it back in.  Let it cook for a few minutes more.  Viola!  The soup is done!

I have not researched each of these ingredients, but my friend who was a chef for 20 years tells me that ginger and parsley are both anti-inflammatory foods.  The coconut oil is a good fat for you.  The garlic I know is also good for you.  And the longer you let the chicken simmer, the more nutrients get sucked out of the marrow of the bones and go into the broth. 

There are times when my stomach would be a bit upset, and I get just a little bit of this soup and it calms it down.  Like I say, I’ve been eating it for almost two months now, and it still hasn’t grown old.  Even if you don’t have stomach issues, this is a great soup to make and have on hand.  It is very nutritious.  I freeze half of it, because I can’t eat the whole pot in a week. 

I hope you can try this soup out!  It is so basic, yet oh so good.  🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 11, 2010 in Recipes, Soup

 

One response to “Chicken Soup

Leave a Reply

 
