RSS

Zucchini noodles

26 Jan

I must say that these were good, but in no way were they filling.  I cannot see how they would suffice a normal person for a meal.  A small part of the meal, yes.  But they couldn’t even work for noodles with spaghetti, I think.  Just too much work for too little food.  I was very disappointed in the amount of “noodles” that one zucchini gave me.  Maybe a 1/4 of a cup total. 

Basically, you take a zucchini and peel it (without the skin) with a potato peeler.  It comes off in long, skinny slices.  You then put it on a tray that has butter on it, salt it a little, and let it bake for around 25 minutes at 215 degrees. 

They were really good, but were just not enough.  It also might have been the liberal use of real butter and sea salt that I used that made them good, 🙂 but it was a good treat for tonight.  Something different is always a good thing!

I also made a small hamburger and put onion and chives goat cheese in it.  Not very good, I must say.  But at least it was a good try!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2010 in Recipes, Sides

 

2 responses to “Zucchini noodles

  1. kathy

    September 13, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    You’re brave to try this with a potato peeler, most of the Raw Foodist use the “Saladacco Spiralizer” (wish I had one) I tried using one of those Spiral Slicing garnishing tools I got at the grocery store for about $2, but I thought that was too time consuming. (Pretty spirals though.) I wouldn’t bother peeling if you have smaller zucchini, the skin adds color. Also, I didn’t dehydrate, just put them in a pan with some tomato sauce & sauted until warm & tender. Yum! (Takes about 2 minutes for a single serving, haven’t tried a family sized batch yet)

     
  2. newfoundsun

    September 13, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    LOL! I thought I was doing it the right way, but it sure was a pain! I’ll have to go look for one of those Spiralizers (or ask for one for Christmas!) and play around with that. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
