RSS

Doctors, Part 4

03 Feb

Yesterday I went for a check-up with N2, and also to go over some blood-work we had ordered.  I was very encouraged with the results of these tests.  Initially, I was afraid that I might be gluten-intolerant (I’ve heard that many Crohnies have that as an issue as well), but it turns out I  have NO problem with that!  I am a bit low on some other things, mainly testosterone and progesterone.  🙂  Feels weird to say that I’m a girl yet I’m low on the “boy” hormone, but I seem to remember somewhere that girls need a little bit of the “Big T” as boys do!  LOLOLOL

Anyway…..

The  tests also showed that my thyroid has minor inflammation, and it has some fancy, weird, Asian sounding name that I’ll try to find.  But basically, if we treat the gut inflammation, that will come in line as well.

So, for the next 4 months I have a lot of pills to take and will be doing some intravenous nutrition supplements every 2 weeks.  Our goal is to get me into remission by the end of those 4 months, and then I can back off to maintenance levels on all the pills.  The doc did give me some food pamphlets to help me, but I am going to stick with SCD.  There really isn’t much evidence out there supporting one diet over another in treating Crohn’s, so I think it’s most important to do your research and stick with the one that you feel will work best for you.  I DO NOT think I would be helping myself at all if I tried every new diet that someone recommended to treat my Crohn’s.

Off to top of my head, here are some of the things I know I’m taking now:  Intestinal Repair Complex, Maxiflav, HLC Intensive Probiotic, Vitamin D3, InflamaX, Sterol 117, DHEA,  and Digestive Enzymes (Enzygest and Dipan).  I know there are more, but can’t think of them.  All that I’m taking is designed to reduce the inflammation, repair what can be repaired, bring my digestive levels and activity to a more normal level, keep a healthy gut, and restore all other levels to safe/normal levels inside of me.

I have hope!  Like I said….I think it’s important to make a choice and stick with it.  I’m going to go down this path, and see where I end up in 4 months.  I do not think it will do me any harm, and who knows….maybe it will really work.

🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

2 responses to “Doctors, Part 4

  1. NBC viever

    February 3, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    The “asian” name of thyroid inflammation is Hashimoto’s thyroiditis 🙂

     
  2. newfoundsun

    February 3, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Hahaha….that’s it!!! Thanks for filling in the blank for me. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
