RSS

Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis

04 Feb

Wow!  Big name….huh?  apparently, I have this as well as Crohn’s.  Briefly, this is what I know about Hashimoto’s:

It is an auto-immune disorder where the immune system attacks and destroys the thyroid gland.  Because of this, patients with Hashimoto’s have hypothyroidism- not enough thyroid production.  Some symptoms of it can be modest weight gain, fatigue, sluggishness, sensitivity to cold, constipation, and dry skin, among others.  The treatment for Hashimoto’s is to take a thyroid hormone replacement pill, which patients likely will need to take the rest of their lives.

So there…that’s all I know about Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis!

Mine is apparently pretty minor, so we are not concerned.  It DOES however make me think about all those times I have been exhausted no matter what I did.  Was it the Crohn’s, the stress, kids, or the Hashimoto’s?

Who knows. 

I just hope we can get a fix to that one.  I can function just fine, but would like a titch more energy each day.  🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

One response to “Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis

  1. Kathy

    February 16, 2010 at 6:58 am

    I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis a year ago and am finally feeling more like myself. I have felt a tremendous improvement once I began a 30 min. a day Yoga and strengthening regiment in the mornings (funny that the kid’s Wii was so helpful for me – I began Wii Fit). I still have days when I need an afternoon nap, but my good days are so much better.

    In my case, I had such low energy that I had a very low activity level. I think my body really needed the stretching and strengthening beyond the thyroid hormone replacement. Before I began the Yoga, I also had a few massages which began the unwinding of my muscles.

    I hope this helps someone.

     

Leave a Reply

 
