RSS

Sticker shock (IV #1)

08 Feb

Today I went in for my first IV treatment.  I wasn’t exactly sure what this was, but had asked enough questions to be willing to try it.  Essentially, from what I learned today, the IV formula is this:  vitamins and minerals, adrenal support, and a homeopathic anti-inflammatory formula. 

This all sounds pretty good to me.  I know I’m not getting and/or absorbing all the vitamins and minerals I need, so some supplementation in that area is good.  I also know that my adrenal’s are low, so bumping that up is good too.  And last, I know I have inflammation, so my hope would be that the concoction there will do some work.

My only problem came as I was checking out, and the receptionist said that they don’t bill insurance for the IV treatments because they are considered “food.”  The cost for just the one treatment?  $275.  I just about started crying then and there. 

I’ve always been one to take care of other people before I take care of myself.  And through this Crohn’s diagnosis I have had to FORCE myself at times to do what my body needed, before I took care of the family.  These IV treatments were one thing I was going to be doing for my health.  But now, with the price, I don’t even want to go there.  If I could have I would have opened up my veins and drained the fluid back out for them so I wouldn’t have to pay.  I’m to do 7 more of these sessions.  The doc was nice and knocked the price down for me this time to $200.  But still, knowing the cost, I don’t want to do another session.  I wanted to cancel the other appointments.  I know my body needs it.  I know that this is my one shot to get this right (yes, I can always go back….but will I have the determination next time that I do now?).  It almost makes me just not want to deal with this whole Crohn’s stuff at all.  Why not just do it with diet, and forget about all the other stuff?

Except for the fact that I believe in this doc.  I believe he knows what he’s doing because he himself has Crohn’s.  I believe that what I’m doing is what’s best for my body.  I believe that all of these treatments will, in the long run, help me deal with this disease.

Now we just have to figure out how to pay for it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 8, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
