RSS

PB Cookies

20 Feb

Oh boy…this morning was not good.  I’m pretty sure it was the SCD Peanut Butter cookies I made last night.  The last time I made them, I thought I had extra gas, but nothing like this morning. 

I felt a bit uncomfortable at first….seemed like a normal morning.  But then it wasn’t just gas, and continued.  Some diarrhea, but then it just wouldn’t come.  Gas gurgles going and a full feeling in the lower left quadrant told me that there was something in there that needed to come out.  Not really painful though….maybe just a titch.  I sat on the toilet, and it just got worse.  Nothing was coming out, yet I felt like I was getting sicker and sicker, to the point I thought I was going to throw up.

Finally, I decided to get in the bath and see if that would help.  I lay down as horizontal as possible for 20 minutes or so.  That totally helped.  I figured the warm water would help me stop the emotional cycle as well as the physical cycle of discomfort.  After a time, I sat up to see how that would do.  I was fine for about 15 minutes, and then had a big gassy-cramp come.  It left pretty quickly, so I sat there for a while longer.  I then decided to get totally upright, and I seemed to do okay. 

I wanted soup for breakfast, but our nuker was out, so I settled for yogurt and blueberries.  That was about 2 hours ago, and I seem to be doing fine.  At first, when getting out of the shower, my stomach felt a bit tender, like it could go bad at any second.  Now though, everything seems to be normal.

I guess this means I’m going to stay off peanut butter for a while.  I thought I could handle it, but it’s not worth the discomfort.  I’ll wait a while before I try anything with almond flour in it as well.  It could be the whole nut-thing, which would stink.  There are lots of breads that I could make, but they are made with nut-flour.  Ugh!  That’s a hard thing for me…not having bread.

Sigh…..I guess it was just a reminder today that this whole Crohn’s thing is not to be taken lightly.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 20, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
