RSS

“I hate Crohn’s”

21 Feb

The hardest part for my kiddos with me having Crohn’s is that they can’t share treats with me.  My daughter won a gift card to Cold Stone Creamery (an ice cream shop), and she wanted me to go with her today to have a special treat.  She asked if I could at least have a taste, and I said no, not yet.  Maybe in a year I’ll be able to take a small bite of treats.  It was then that both kids said that they hate Crohn’s.  In their own little mind, things are different.  They don’t notice it when I eat dinner, and have something different than they do.  They notice it most with the treats.  Not that our family always has sweet treats and desserts around.  But, that’s something special that I share with them.  I would bake something and let them help, and we would taste what we created.  Or, they get candy from school and they want to share with me, because they know I like chocolate.  It’s just different now. 

They hate Crohn’s, because it has changed a part of their lives as well.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
