RSS

IV #2

23 Feb

So today I had my second of these eight initial IV infusions.  The last one I wasn’t really expecting anything to happen, and was quite pleased with the energy level it gave me.  I asked the doctor this morning about it, and she said that my current gut problems do not allow my body to absorb the vitamins and nutrients that I need to function on a “normal” basis (which I concur with….my fatigue for this past year has been tough).  With the IV’s, I am getting those vitamins and minerals injected straight into my bloodstream, so it would make sense that I have extra energy.  The doctor said the goal is that it will “stick” for longer and longer (the energy and other good stuff), and that after this introductory phase I can just do a maintenance level.

This time I also felt more energy.  It’s not like a caffeine high or anything like that.  I guess it’s that I feel more clarity, and have an ability to live “life.”  I don’t feel like I need to be chained to my chair or prop my eyes open with toothpicks.  I can feel like I can connect with my kids better, stay on top of problems easier, and generally do more with myself.  I am a person that likes to be active, and usually I just push myself to do the things that need to be done.  But with the IV, I can be active like I want to be, and not feel like it’s forced.

One of the best parts is being able to engage with my kids again.  I just feel like I can be a better mom, having the energy to keep up with them and truly engage.  I can tackle the problems between them, be creative, do homework, and love on them like a mom should.

It’s worth it, for me, to do these treatments, even if it only gives me a day or two of extra energy right now.  I hope and pray that as I continue in this diagnosis I will continue to get a handle on the fatigue and eventually, maybe I’ll have the energy full-time and I can “live” again.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
