RSS

Energy & chutney

24 Feb

Today is the second day after the infusion, and, as with the last one, I had energy today.  I didn’t feel like I had to force myself to get things done, I just did them.  No, I did not do the laundry or the dishes.  What I did do though was some of the things on my “to-do” list that have not gotten done because normally I can barely muster the energy to do the regular upkeep in the house.  It feels really good to be able to get those type of chores done!

So, today was a good day in that regards.  I know I will crash soon.  I’m hoping I’ll get one more day, but I am gearing for not, just in case. 

The frustrating part about Crohn’s, for today, is how one simple thing can set my stomach off.  I made the Honey Ginger Chutney from BTVC (Breaking The Vicious Cycle- Specific Carbohydrate Diet), and the only thing different in that recipe was raisins.

Raisins?  You’re kidding me, right?

Nope.

Last night I had just a few bites, and within the hour I had some big gas gurgles running around.  This afternoon I had, again, just a few bites, and the gas started within the hour and continued, even worse though than yesterday.  It’s been almost 4 hours, and I’m hoping it’s almost done.

It’s just frustrating how a simple thing like a raisin could do this to my system.  How did I get to this point?  How did I go from a normal person eating normal food, to one who ate a total of probably 6 raisins, and it sets me on a downward spiral in terms of my symptoms?

Sigh…..

I’ll be okay.  I know I will.  It’s still early in the disease for me.  I’ll try the chutney again probably Thursday on an isolated day (one where nothing else is new), and see if it really was that.  I hope not.  I made about a gallon of the stuff, and I actually like it!  🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

2 responses to “Energy & chutney

  1. Son

    February 25, 2010 at 2:16 am

    I am one of the member at healingwell.com. I been follow up with your dairy. Its very helpful to me to share your experience with this disease. I have all the sympton of crohn, but only test positive with the Promethius Lab “IBD serology 7”. Still need a capsule study to confirm, but cannot afford since it cost $2000. I been going alternative because its cheaper and more helpful in a long term. The most helpful that I found is Traditional “Ginger Aide” or fresh ginger into tea, Kyolic probiotics, Siberian pine nuts oil and good diet. No wheat, dairy or light sugar. Cook foods like spinach, rice and fish are helpful and alot of soup. I am asian ethnic . I was raise to eat whole food, but have not done so for years until I have this problem. I watch Doctor OZ daily and he inspire people to bring healthy food back to America and cut out the comercial food that our body dont need. Keep us update hopefully you find something that heal you and inspire other to do the same. By the way you mention your family member are doctors, what do they think of your alternative treatment. Also is this blog free to sign up?

     
  2. newfoundsun

    February 25, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Thank you for commenting on my blog, and sharing your own experiences. I think a good diet where someone knows which foods trigger a response is key, regardless of what other methods you use to control the disease. I will look up the things that you said you are on, as I am always anxious to learn about new things!

    My family is cautiously supportive. We all grew up just doing what the doctors said, so it is a reality shift to think otherwise. My brother who is a doctor seems pretty open-minded, though I have not shared recently all that I’m doing. When the time is right I’ll try to share his thoughts.

    Yes, this blog is free to sign up!

    Thanks again. Keep up the good work! It sounds like you have a plan and are following it, which is also key!

     

Leave a Reply

 
