RSS

Yogurt

01 Mar

I’m approaching the 4 month mark on the SCD diet, and overall things have been going well.  I have continued to have gas a few times a week though, and it has made me rethink the yogurt I am using.

I had heard that if you don’t make your own yogurt (the only legal yogurt on the SCD is homemade), then the best option is Stonyfield.  It’s an organic yogurt made from pasteurized milk but not all the other crap of other brands.  Since Stonyfield makes a full-fat French Vanilla flavor that I love for dessert (with a few blueberries on top!), I took to that as my yogurt.  For the past couple of months I’ve been having at least a cup, if not more, of this yogurt each day.

But, I continue to have gas, so I’ve decided to go off of Stonyfield for a few days and see if it makes a difference.  I’ll keep doing the same foods that I know I can eat, and try not to change anything else.

From what I understand, cow’s milk has a more complex structure to it that makes it difficult for humans to digest.  A good alternative is goat’s milk, which has a simpler structure to it.  There is a very well-known goat’s milk farm not too far from where I live.  So, I’m going to go visit them this week, and probably buy a gallon of milk to make yogurt out of.

It won’t be as sweet as Stonyfield, but if that’s the solution to the majority of my gas, then it’s worth it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 1, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
