RSS

Chickens!!!

04 Apr

Well, we did it!  Yesterday we went to the feed store and bought 5 chicks.  It will take 4-6 months for them to start laying eggs, but oh they are fun!  We have one Buff Orpington (my daughter’s, which she named Grace), one Barred Plymouth Rock (my son’s, which he named Toothless), and 3 Rhode Island Reds (named Apple, Hope, and Peep).  I think it is a good blend, and should give me a good amount of eggs….eventually!  The kids are really having a great time holding them, and talking to them.  As I sit here I can hear them chirping away!  All three of these breeds are, as far as I understand, good breeds for backyard chickens.  They are pretty docile, tolerate confinement well (they will NOT be running free all day in my yard!), and make good pets.  I can’t wait to get them in the coop and for them to be a part of our lives outside!  It will also be sooooo nice for me to know that the eggs I am eating each day are truly organic, and I can determine what kind of feed they are getting so that it is the best for me.  Hooray!  I’ll try to post pictures soon………

🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
