RSS

Doctor, Part 6

12 Apr

Tuesday I had another check-up with my Naturopath.  We check in once a month.  I like that, because we are trying to get a handle on what my body is doing, and things can change in just a short amount of time, so this way we can truly keep tight tabs.  It also makes me feel like I have an advocate in my corner someone who is committed to seeing me be as healthy as I can be.

Mostly everything is staying the same at this point in time.  My constipation has been worse this past month, and so I thought maybe it was the thyroid medicine we added last month.  Just to make sure, we drew my blood.  The doc will be checking my thyroid, as well as I think Vitamin D levels and CRP.  I’m looking forward to seeing what my CRP level is.  It was pretty high back in November when I was first diagnosed.  I’ve been on this “natural” path for 2.5 months, and so it will be good to see if it’s come down at all.  I don’t expect a big change.  I think that would be unrealistic when we are still at the beginning of this path.  But I do hope that it will show some change, down! 

We also talked about kids, and how I can know when to be concerned with possible stomach issues with them.  Since our daughter has, for the past couple of years, had tummy and bowel issues, it is something that always nags at me.  She’s not had anything that’s drastic, but just enough to put the bug in my heart.  At this point I am just going to take away dairy, and see if that makes a change.  If not, we can start doing some tests.  I don’t want to be an alarmist, but at the same point I don’t want to look back at this in 5 or 10 years and say, “oh, if only I would have…..”  I think it’s a good thing to be aware with your kids, and not turn a blind eye.

We’ll see what the doc says about my blood tests soon.  In the meantime, I’ll just keep truckin’ along!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

3 responses to “Doctor, Part 6

  1. Son

    April 12, 2010 at 8:06 am

    I wanted to let you know that I have use Garden of Life Ulltra Probiotics and Metagenics UltraInflame X . The untrainflame X can only be prescribe by a practioner. It was given to me by a D.O here at the Born Clinic in Grand Rapids. I would ask the natropath about it. Both are high quality products and dont taste bad. Lots of good ingredients including tumeric. The probiotic is made by Rubin Jordan, the same guy who have crohns. His book” Restoring Your Digestive Health” is very interesting. He claim going back to natural food, taking virgin coconut oil and probiotic have heal him until today.

     
  2. newfoundsun

    April 12, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Thanks! I’ve read Jordin’s book, and in fact “Guts To Glory: Restoring Your Digestive Health” is where I started with my diet. I followed the first two phases, and then switched to the SCD once I was out of those. I use the UltraInflamaX as well. Here in the West we don’t need a prescription. I buy mine online or from my Naturopath, though I have yet to find it in a supplement store. I do think there is a lot of good stuff in there. I was also on the Garden of Life Primal Defense to start, but am now taking HLC probiotics on advice from my Naturopath.

    I’m glad it sounds like you found a good doctor to help you! That truly is key…..

     
  3. Son

    April 13, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I suffer contipation frequently. You can have crohn and constipated, very uncommon. I eat cook okra and plaintain banana (can cause gas) help loosing stool. Drinking or eating sour fruit or seem to help.

     

Leave a Reply

 
