RSS

Pancakes

29 Apr

Okay, here’s a recipe I got off of www.nomorecrohns.com.  I like the sweet buttery flavor that these have, but I yet have gotten them to “fluff up” like regular pancakes.  Any ideas as to how to modify this to do that?  🙂

Pancakes

  • 1 1/4 cups almond flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon butter (not margarine)

Mix all ingredients in a blender, and then pour out onto a buttered griddle or pan set around 250-300.  Cook until golden on both sides.  These will take a LOT longer to cook than regular pancakes, and can be kinda hard to flip.  BUT, the taste is amazing!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2010 in Breakfast, Recipes

 

4 responses to “Pancakes

  1. Lindsay

    May 6, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Hi Pam,
    I had a problem with my almond flour bread rising, and it turned out that it was because I was blending the baking soda too long. Try blending everything BUT the baking soda in the blender, then add the baking soda last and just blend for a few seconds to get it mixed in.
    Hope that helps.
    ~Lindsay (from the BTVC-SCD list)

     
  2. newfoundsun

    May 6, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    Thanks Lindsay! I’ll try that next time I make these. 🙂

     
  3. Kathy

    September 13, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    You might try separating the eggs first. Separate the whites, mix the yolks with the rest of the ingredients, whip the whites into a stiff peak & gently fold into the batter by hand. (Got the idea from a gluten free waffle mix – It really changes the texture.)

     
  4. newfoundsun

    September 13, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Great idea! I have some almond flour coming any day in the mail, so I’ll do that the next time I try these. I love the flavor of this recipe, but just want the “poofiness” of regular pancakes. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
