RSS

Mirepois’

07 May

Pronounced:  mir-pwah

Definition:   1. a flavoring made from diced vegetables, seasonings, herbs, and sometimes meat, often placed in a pan to cook with meat or fish.  2. finely chopped vegetables, as onions and carrots, sometimes with meat, often used as a bed for meat that is to be braised.

I use a mirepois’ for my veggies a ton these days.  I love the way the flavors meld together, how the color combination looks on a plate (looks impressive to me!), and it makes a perfect complement to just about any dish that I make.  It is also a great way to soften your veggies and add a bit of flavor to your diet.  I have yet to get tired of my mirepois”!!!

Right now, my mirepois’ consists of doing this:

  • A big ol’ spoonful of coconut oil (like 1/3 cup or more)
  • A bunch of finely chopped onions (about 1/3 cup, give or take)
  • A few garlic cloves, finely diced
  • 2 celery, cut up
  • 2 carrots, cut up
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • Salt and pepper to taste

I put the oil in the pan and heat it on about a meduim-high heat.  I then add the onions and let them cook gently while I am chopping everything up.  I add the garlic in next, and also let it sit and cook for a short time.  If I am pressed for time, I just throw everything in the pan after that, and let it cook for about 10 minutes, or until the carrots are semi-soft to soft. 

I just made this last night, and it was delicious.  The end yield was just shy of 2 cups, which meant I could have a cup last night and save a cup for today.  The next time I make it I will likely add another celery and carrot, and put the whole bell pepper in, just so it will make enough leftovers for two days.  All in all….a great way to add veggies to your diet!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2010 in Recipes, Sides

 

Leave a Reply

 
