RSS

Lemon-pesto Salmon

12 May

So last night I wanted to make Salmon, and do something different with it.  I had bought a book at a garage sale on cooking salmon and steelhead, and looked in there to find inspiration.  Even though most of the recipes have illegal ingredients, I’m comfortable now making changes in recipes to make them okay for me.  I found a Tuscan pesto salmon in there, but I didn’t have the basil leaves yet for that recipe.  I looked through my herb garden 🙂 and saw my lemon balm, and decided to try it.  Oh my gosh!  It was amazing.  Here’s what I did:

  • 1 pound Salmon fillet
  • 1 loose cup of lemon-balm leaves
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup fresh grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/3 cup (give or take) extra virgin olive oil
  • butter

I put all the ingredients but the salmon in a blender and blend until well mixed.  I then took the mixture and spread it evenly over the salmon, patting it firmly down.  I dropped some dollops of butter on top.  Put it in the oven at 400 and bake it for 10 minutes per inch of salmon.  Voila!  Instant success.  🙂

I added a simple carrot/celery/garlic/onion mirepois’ to this dinner last night, as well as 1/2 a fresh grapefruit.  It was a wonderful dinner!  What was best is that everyone, including both of my kids, liked the salmon too.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 12, 2010 in Main Dishes, Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
