RSS

Still sick…..

22 May

It’s been 5 nights since I’ve slept through the night.  4 of those were due to my son, who has an ear infection, coming downstairs in pain.  But, my own ears have been hurting the past 3 nights, and the pain has woken me up in the middle of the night.  I hope I don’t have an ear infection.  I know the docs would want to put me on an antibiotic, and that only makes my Crohn’s worse.  Plus the fact that we’ve worked so hard these past 6 months to get my gut back in balance with good bacteria, the last thing I want to do is go and kill everything and start all over again!

It’s hard to not get enough sleep.  I am someone who needs a ton of rest in the first place, so not getting enough really takes its toll.  I wonder if I would have been hit so hard if I would have been caught up on sleep?  Possibly not….

But, since I’m here, this is what I’m doing: 

  • Gargling with warm water and sea-salt
  • Snorting warm water and sea-salt into my sinuses.  This has always  loosened everything up for me
  • Drops of warm sesame oil and garlic, in each ear, twice a day.  Today my ear popped, just a little bit, and is hurting less.  I have hope this will continue to help (garlic is a natural antibiotic, and the warm oil is very soothing for the pain)
  • Hot packs on the ears
  • Massage on the lymph nodes and sinuses.  I actually had a chair massage this morning from a masseuse, and she did my sinuses.  They were feeling great the rest of the afternoon!
  • Apple cider vinegar.  I gargle with this at last once a day, and try to swallow at least a teaspoon.  It is supposed to be very good for you

My throat still hurts, sometimes worse than others, and I have to keep on top of the pain in my ears.  I hope tonight to get some good sleep.  I can’t do too many more days or little sleep………

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 22, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
