RSS

Naturopath cold remedy?

30 May

So, I think I got about 80% of my cold gone with my own home remedy stuff.  That’s pretty good, considering how bad it was!  I was still fighting some congestion and sore throat issues, and my uvula had dark red spots on it, so I decided it was time to go to the Naturopath and see if there is anything they can do or recommend.  He looked in my ears, in my throat, and felt my lymph nodes.  When all was said and done he said it doesn’t look like strep, but there are a few things I can do to help the healing along.  The first is to get some Throat Coat tea.  I’ve heard of this stuff before, from singers, and it’s supposed to be amazing.  The second thing he said to do is add 10 drops each of Eucalyptus and Thyme essential oils to 1/4 olive oil.  Then, starting at the back of the ear, massage this concoction down the side of the throat to the collar-bone.  Also, massage it under the eyes, along the nasal passages, starting at the bridge of the nose and going up your cheekbone and then down towards your ear.  His reasoning behind this strategy is this:  when things are plugged up and can’t drain, the bacteria sits there longer and can cause more problems.  By massaging with the oils is helps loosen everything up so it can drain properly.

Sounds good to me!  I know I”ve read lots of similar things online for home remedies and heard this from many other people, so I’ll go ahead and try it.  When I had the chair massage last week I know it helped loosen everything up (it was after that I started to feel true relief).  I also know the essential oils are really good to use.  We’ll see if it really works or not, but hey, I figure it’s better than antibiotics right now.  This close to our big trip, the last thing I want to do is mess with the bacteria in my gut!

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
