RSS

“Shahboogie”

06 Jun

So yesterday we went on our first Shahboogie of the year.  That’s our family code-word for “hike.”  🙂  Last summer we started going on short hikes on sunny days, and we must have come up with “shahboogie” on one of those hikes where the kiddos where getting tired, and we just needed to get them back to the car without having to carry them!  It is a fun adventure each time we go, and we just love spending the time out in nature and with each other.  This was an easy hike, and I think we all were glad of that by the time we got back to the car!

I was curious how my body would respond, having lost 50 pounds and a lot of my strength and energy.  In the past, no matter what the activity, I could call on my reserves to gut through any physical situation.  Without having those reserves, I wasn’t sure how I would make it.

About half-way through the hike, I looked up at the trees and the sky and all the beauty that was around me.  My stomach twinged in pain for just a few seconds, reminding me of this disease I carry now.  But as I looked around, I shook my head and said to myself, “I’m not going to let this disease get the best of me.”  I spoke to God from my heart, and declared in faith that this disease will not keep me down.  I put my foot down about it with the stubbornness and determination that God has given me!  It was a declaration of faith in Him.  I hear of so many Crohnies who are saddled with so much pain and depression they simply cannot get off the couch.  Yesterday was a life-affirming event for me.  It showed me that, regardless of everything else, God is still in control.  This is HIS world that he has created, and I am HIS child. 

I’m going to get through this.  With HIS strength, I know I will.

And with HIS strength, I will continue to LIVE.

I will not let this disease defeat me.

Period.

I’ve got HIM on my side!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 6, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
