RSS

Strawberry Cream Pie

10 Jul

Oh, this recipe is dangerous for me!  The first time I made it, I ate the whole pie in under 3 days, all by myself.  🙂  It is super easy, and tastes really great.  The last time I made it I didn’t have the nuts for the filling, and it wasn’t as good.  I like the little bit of crunch they provide.  My taste buds have changed though, I realize now!  I think this is very sweet, but those around me with a sweet tooth think….not so much.  Either way, I love it, and I think it is a great idea for these hot summer days. 

It is gluten and dairy free, and for those on a less restrictive diet, you could add a dollop of whipped cream and a drizzle of chocolate sauce on top to “sweeten” it even more (if it really needs it!).  The next time I make it I will probably just leave out the crust that I did.  You really don’t need a crust with this! 

I had to modify the recipe for me, as I’m not doing some of the ingredients yet.  Here is the original recipe:

http://www.freecoconutrecipes.com/index.cfm/2010/6/15/strawberry-cream-pie-gluten-free-and-dairy-free-blog

And this is what I did:

Crust:

  • 1/8 cup melted butter
  • 1/3-1/2 cup almond flour

Filling:

  • 2 cups fresh strawberries
  • 1 cup raw nuts, I used 1/2 pecans and 1/2 almonds
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 cup coconut oil, melted

For the crust, melt the butter in a pie plate.  Add the almond flour until it is not too wet and can spread around the bottom of the pan evenly.  For the filling, place all ingredients in a blender and blend until it is smooth and creamy.  Pour the filling slowly over the crust, and refrigerate for 2-3 hours.

This is such a wonderful dessert for me because I love strawberries, and it is so quick and easy to make.  Enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, Dessert, Recipes

 

2 responses to “Strawberry Cream Pie

  1. Cecilia

    July 10, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Hey Pam :o) great recipe… I wanna try it out!! I have one question, 1/2 of what for honey?

    Thanks lady!!

    Cecilia

     
  2. newfoundsun

    July 10, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Thanks Cece! I changed it. 🙂 It’s 1/2 a cup of honey!

     

Leave a Reply

 
