RSS

Canyons Restaurant

14 Jul

So, the other night my husband and I had a chance to go out to dinner, sans kids, which almost never happens.  I’m still a bit gun-shy when eating out, as I’m never sure if I’ll be able to find something to eat.  I had already had a smoothie earlier though, and didn’t want to pass up the chance to sit and talk with my man, so we decided to give the restaurant Canyons a shot.  I thought for sure I could order something there!

As soon as I sat down I started to look over the menu.  To my dismay, the only thing I found that I KNEW would be okay was a huge steak, and there was no way I was going to pay that much for just a slab of beef and all the other things I couldn’t eat!  I looked over the appetizer menu, and saw Coconut Prawns.  Silly me…..

It’s been so long since I’ve eaten at a restaurant that I thought these would be prawns cooked in oil and drizzled with some coconut flakes.  I’ve eaten these before, prior to Crohn’s.  I know what they are and how they are made!  But my brain forgot that, and I ordered them.

When they came to the table I realized they were battered and fried and had sugary coconut on them, served with a side of Thai peanut sauce.  EVERYTHING except the prawns themselves were illegal for me.  I was faced with a choice:  Eat nothing, and be just fine with it.  OR, eat a few small bites and hope for the best.

I chose the latter.

Shhhh…..don’t tell anyone!

I’ve been on this diet (SCD) for 9 months, and have done really well.  I decided to take a chance and eat just one bite of the prawns, and pray that I wouldn’t send my system into shock.  Oh my goodness…..it was soooooooooooo good!  I have forgotten how good processed Americanized food can be. 

Then I decided I would just eat one whole prawn.  I told my husband that I’ll just eat this one and be done.

Two minutes later I reached for a second. 

Have I mentioned recently that at times my off-switch for good foods doesn’t work?

As I was eating the second prawn my husband came to my rescue.  “Should I eat the rest,” he asked?

“Yes,” I replied around an amazingly delicious bite.  “And fast!”

He dutifully placed the remaining prawns on his plate, out of reach and sight of me. 

And I’m glad to report that the next morning I didn’t have pain, just more gas and gurgles than normal.  No, it wasn’t the best choice to eat illegals, and I won’t do it very often.  Eventually I think I could have one “safe” illegal a month and be fine.  I hope…..

But for now, it gave me just a titch of optimism for the future, and that things will look up eventually.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 14, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
