RSS

Canyons, revisited

16 Jul

I knew better.  I’ve heard over and over from other Crohnies who say they can have a reaction to food 3, 4, or even 5 days later.  I will admit that for some foolish reason, I thought that the rule didn’t apply to me.

Now, in my defense, historically the Crohn’s inside of me will act up within 1 hour to 24 hours after I’ve eaten something.  Usually, it’s pretty fast, and happens in under 12 for sure.  So, that’s what I expected.  I didn’t have anything much going on the day after I ate the prawns, and so I thought I was fine.

It’s not even that I’m in much pain.  That’s never been Crohn’s inside of me, thankfully.  But the symptoms that have cropped up yesterday and today, I just don’t like.  The big “C” is back, and tonight I’m feeling very bloated and full.  All I had for dinner was a 10 oz. strawberry and homemade yogurt smoothie, and yet I feel like I’ve just had a 10-course turkey dinner.  I’ve also had more gas and gurgling since Monday night.  All total, not too bad.  But I just don’t like the feeling inside of me right now.

I will say to anyone on or thinking about the Specific Carbohydrate Diet that this diet is not a short-term thing that you expect to “get off of” someday.  If you don’t have any gut issues, then you may be able to go back to eating “normal” American food and be just fine, if you even want to.

But for those of use who have something abnormal going on in the gut, this diet is for the long-haul.  In other words….you go on SCD for the rest of your life.  It does right by our systems by feeding it good things that it can digest, and keeps you away from the things that cause problems.  Really, it’s a diet that goes back to our roots…..and cutting out all of the processed crap that we’ve come to eat so much of. 

And it is NEVER smart to just “try” an illegal and see what it does.  Yes, some people may eventually CHOOSE to eat illegally now and then, like I did, and suffer the consequences.

But your mental attitude towards this diet should be one of strict discipline and adherence, for that’s the only way your gut has a chance to heal.

Anything else could be classified, depending on the person (and I was in this classification on Monday!), as “stupid.”  🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 16, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

One response to “Canyons, revisited

  1. Sus

    July 16, 2010 at 3:08 am

    another thing to look for is this: In restaurants they don’t always change their frying oil as often as they should…so because it is fried food that could be a big reason as well…I don’t have Crohn’s but I know there are times that if I eat out it is a good thing if I don’t end up in the bathroom with it going through me an hour later. I am so proud of you for trying though. I will tell you I am not sure that you were stupid okay….this is why…yes, strict adherance but don’t be so quick to blame yourself …I have been in restaurants and have seen how they like to cut corners. Canyons may be a big part of the blame too! I am just so proud of you for getting us all back to our roots and cutting out the junk and processed. You ROCK my world!

     

Leave a Reply

 
