RSS

Ringing Ears

24 Jul

Well, this is a new twist that may or may not have anything to do with Crohn’s!  About 2 months ago my ears started ringing on a more persistent scale…..louder and more often than I had experienced in the past.  This past week it has been pretty constant and loud.  It makes going to sleep quite a challenge some days!  I see the doctor on Monday about it, and I hope we can figure it out.  I have a friend who has a degenerative ear disease, and lives with this all the time, so I know it’s manageable.  I just want it gone if there’s something we can do about it!

At this point, there are a few things I’m tossing around that it could be:  1) caffeine (reintroduced into my diet just 2 weeks prior to the ringing starting), 2) a bad cold/earache (the ringing started shortly after that), 3) new meds started the same time as the coffee, or 4) the weather (hey, we always blame everything on the weather, right?).

I’m hoping it’s not the coffee.  I’m not supposed to drink decaf on the SCD, and if you’ve read my blog at all, you know that I LOVE the taste of coffee!  But, if it’s that, I guess I’d rather not have the constant bee in my ear, and I would give it up.  Maybe it’s something else entirely……we’ll see!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

2 responses to “Ringing Ears

  1. Margaret

    July 26, 2010 at 2:39 am

    Some possible causes for tinnitus include anemia, heavy aspirin use (maybe make sure there’s no aspirin in the infusions you’ve been getting?), and severe weight loss/malnutrition. I hope your doctor finds a clear and easily treatable cause.

     
  2. newfoundsun

    July 26, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Thanks Margaret! I know I tends towards being anemic, always have. I’ll check on the aspirin. And with Crohn’s, we know that malnutrition can be a big issue. Rats! This disease has a nasty way of making itself known in lots of areas, doesn’t it???

     

Leave a Reply

 
