RSS

Breakfast Sandwich

01 Aug

We had a huge garage sale this weekend, and I knew that if I didn’t think ahead, I would end up eating practically nothing for breakfast.  I had a thought for making a sandwich that would approximate a McGriddle from McDonald’s, and would be pretty easy.  So on Thursday, I made a big batch of “Jim’s Pancakes” from www.nomorecrohns.com and cooked up a package of bacon in preparation.  Here’s what I did to make the sandwiches:

  • 1 batch SCD legal pancakes
  • 1 package uncured bacon, cooked
  • 1 egg
  • cheese

Since I already had the bacon and pancakes ready, I simply fried up an egg, and topped the egg with cheese.  Then, I layered in this order:  one pancake, the egg with cheese, bacon, another pancake, more bacon, and then a third pancake.

Oh my gosh!!!  The pancakes have honey in them, so it approximated the syrup in the McGriddle and gave it a nice sweet taste.  Then, with the bacon and cheese and egg, it was amazing!  I will admit it was a little messy to eat, so I wouldn’t suggest eating in the car on the go.  Regardless, it was a great sandwich that was really pretty easy to make that filled me up until lunchtime.  One batch of pancakes and bacon would make an easy 4 sandwiches I think, so this is something you could make ahead and know you have good breakfast for a few days.  Enjoy!  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 1, 2010 in Breakfast, Crohn's Journal, Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
