RSS

Doctors, Part 8

10 Aug

So today I had a monthly check-up with my Naturopath.  I like it that he’s keeping close tabs this first year with Crohn’s.  At this point, things are looking pretty good.  We’ve stabilized my thyroid, and we hope that it will stay that way.  We’ve also gotten rid of most of the symptoms.  I will still have the occasional right side pain, but that could be triggered by stress or a certain food I ate, and not necessarily an indication that things are going downhill inside of me.  The one area he was concerned about was that I had some very minor bleeding in the stool for the past month.  Typically in Crohn’s this is (I think) and indication of increased inflammation and disease activity.  In my case, we think it is not that but an aggravated hemorrhoid (which was a lasting present from the birth of my son, if you want to know!).  I hate to bore you with details like this, but hey, I’m sharing about a disease that affects how your body digests and eliminates it’s food, so I guess you’ll just have to deal with my being gut-level real.  🙂

On another note, the ringing is continuing.  We cleaned my ears out really well, and the wax build-up could have been a contributing factor.  But since it’s still there, and one ear doesn’t look quite right, my Naturopath wants me to see an ENT in the next couple of weeks, just to make sure there is no nerve damage.  Apparently a bacterial and a viral infection can cause damage, so…..I guess we’ll just hope and pray that it goes away on it’s own and is not an indicator of more serious, long-term damage!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 10, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
