RSS

9-Months

15 Aug

I find myself today “celebrating” 9 months on this diet, and having this disease of Crohn’s inside my body.  I’m not sure if “celebrating” is the right word to use, but in a sense it works.  I don’t celebrate having a life-long disease in me, but I do celebrate the strength and determination that God has given me to get through these first 9 months.  Without His strength inside of me, I never would have made it this far.  For that, I have a reason to celebrate.

In all honesty though, I’m pretty ambivalent about the 9-month mark.  As I was thinking about it this morning, I realized that this has just become a way of life for me now.  I don’t miss or crave the foods I can’t eat, and I just adjust wherever I go.  In a sense, I guess I’ve gotten used to the Crohn’s as being a constant companion to me.

The challenge now will be to not be too complacent about it.  I need to remember that by Jesus’ stripes, I have already been healed.  I need to remember that my God does not want me to be sick.  He loves me!  Yes, this affliction may last for a while, but it is a foreign invader inside of me.  I never want to get too comfortable with Crohn’s inside of me, because as soon as God’s timing is here, I want it gone!  I will continue to learn how to live with this disease while I anxiously await the manifestation of his healing power inside of my life.   

So today, I celebrate, and I give praise to my God.  This trial is nothing that I cannot get through.  He has already proven to me that He will strengthen my feet when they grow weary, and he will give sight to my eyes when I cannot see his blessings.  I know I can make it through life.  I know that I can live life with Crohn’s.  I know that whatever mountains may come my way, God has a plan for me as I climb that mountain, and that I will never climb it alone.  He will always be beside me, and victory is always certain because his Son has already won the battle.

Hallelujah!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
