RSS

TV

19 Aug

Well, it’s been about a month I think since we shut off our cable.  Really, we don’t miss it all that much.  The kids have had an easier time of it than us, amazing enough!  We get lots of movies each week from the library, read more books, and generally just spend more time together.  I know that it is all worth it, and I have enjoyed the extra time my husband and I have to just sit and talk each night after the kids go to bed.

But I’m having a hard time with why I’m so tired!  It’s not like I stayed up late watching TV each night before, and I’m not staying up late now.  Maybe my tiredness has to do with being a full-time mom to the kiddos this summer?  That can wear just about anyone out!  I actually go to bed around the same time each night as before with TV, but I am waking up tired, and I’m not sure why.  My only thought is that, when we had TV, I would allow myself an hour just to veg each night after the kids went to bed.  I would turn on my favorite show, and let my mind “zone out.”  This was “my time,” and I think my mind really needed those moments to unwind from the day.  I haven’t yet figured out what can replace that.  Playing on the computer takes too much work.  So does studying.  Reading is something I love, but if I zone out, I miss key points in the plot.  🙂  I guess I could go to bed even earlier, but that would be lame, I think.  An 8:00 bedtime for me???  Don’t think so….. 🙂

So, I’ll continue to see what I can do.  I know when Fall TV comes I’ll miss not watching a few of my favorite shows like Survivor and NCIS.  I might have to figure out how to watch them on the computer.  That still doesn’t solve the problem of being tired each day, but maybe having the kids in school will give me time to rest each day.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 19, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
