RSS

Neverending Story, 2

26 Aug

I just can’t get this movie out of my head.  This morning as I sat in silence and drank my coffee, I remembered the last time we watched the movie with our kids.  There was a point in the movie where Atreyu, the hero, was getting weak or scared, and he was on the verge of giving up.  At that moment, my kids both cried out, “Don’t give up Atreyu!  You can do it!”  I smiled while watching that movie with them at that moment, and I smile again remembering it.

This morning, I wondered how many times our God sits in heaven and does the same thing.  He watches us with the concern and love of a parent, and when he sees our feet growing weak, cries out, “Don’t give up!”  How often does he do that, and I am not aware?  How often does he smile, and yell out, “I know you can do it!”

Some days, I wish I could hear his voice saying those things to me in a loud shout from heaven, and not the small voice in my heart.  There are days where my courage is faltering, and it takes strength to listen deep.

But I need to remember that, even if I can’t hear it at that moment, My God is still right beside me.  He is still watching.  And he is always crying out to me, “Don’t give up!”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 26, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
