RSS

Too fast

01 Sep

Well, after over 9 months on this diet, you would think I’ve gotten a clue as to what I can and cannot do.  But….I don’t.  I think I went too fast recently, and now am paying for it.  The last couple days I’ve had a loss of appetite, lots more “gurgling gas,” and occasional sparks of pain under my ribs and on the right side.  No D though, which I’m thankful for!  I’m still eating fairly bland, but with the increase in symptoms, I need to back off for a few days and go back to the basic levels of this diet.  Good thing I just made some soup today, and have some good organic eggs from my girls!

What did I have?  Two things that should have been okay:  Kirkland brand low-sodium bacon, and coconut flour.  It just goes to show you that with Crohn’s, you never know what might or might not be okay.  It also proves to me that just because I am feeling good does not mean I can move things along at a faster pace.  That is a good lesson for me to remember.  Since this Crohn’s has always been mild, it’s been easy to eat more “advanced” foods and believe I am doing fine.  And for the most part, I have been.  But it’s easy for me to start moving too fast when things are going well, and I need to keep it in the forefront of my brain to slow down and not overdo things. 

Ah well….such is life!  It’s a cold, rainy day here, so it will be comforting to eat soup a few times.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 1, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
