RSS

Made-up dinner

05 Sep

You ever have one of those dinners that started out with a good plan in your head, but by the time it got to the table it was all pretty much made-up?  Yep, that was me with dinner last night.  I wanted to make crappie for the family, and so I did.  A little olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper, and then a quick fry on each side to cook it.  The kids thought it was chicken, until I told them that it was fish caught by one of the best fishermen in the world (grandpa, of course!).  They loved it.  I decided to try a cucmber-tomato salad, which I made with a bit of my yogurt, salt and pepper, and some lemon juice for the dressing.  The boys didn’t really like it, but Laura and I did.  🙂  I knew the boys would want something else for a veggie, so I cooked up some frozen carrots.  Simple.  Next came the starch.  I warmed up some leftover noodles and thought that would work.  Nope.  Forgot to add water.  They stuck together and looked like leather.  Plan B was cinnamon swirl bread, which the family loved having for dinner!  Finally, I was out of fruit, so I tried to make a frozen strawberry smoothie to work for that.  I crushed some ice in my Ninja, added strawberries and crushed them, then added homemade yogurt.  Again, Laura and I loved it.  The boys…not so much.

All total, dinner was really good.  Everyone got fed, and even my husband commented on how good it was.  I was shocked.  Yes, I had a plan, but it just felt….like a thrown together dinner. 

I guess those are some of the best!

But the best part of the whole thing?  Besides my yogurt smoothie and quick crackers for me, the only other thing that I had to buy was a tomato.  Fish complements of grandpa.  Veggies, bread, and noodles compliments of the Food Bank.  Not bad, if I do say so myself!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
