RSS

The mouth of babes

06 Sep

Last night as my daughter was finishing dinner and I was cleaning up, she asked me if I will always have Crohn’s.  I answered her yes, and then said with a smile, “unless God decides to heal me!”  Her eyes got big, and she said, “Oh mom, I haven’t been doing my job in praying for you and Crohn’s!  Can we do it right now?”  I said sure, and she started to pray.

Have I told you about my daughter?  She is a prayer warrior, at only 7.  Her prayers are the prayers of an innocent heart, that believes the word of God. 

So, she prayed for the Crohn’s inside of me, and at the very end she hurriedly said “amen,” and then looked up at me with big eyes.

“Mom!” she said.  “I know why you have Crohn’s!”

“Why?” I asked.

“God just told me in my heart as I was praying!  He let you have Crohn’s so you can help people!  You have Crohn’s mom so that you can discover new foods, and help the people you know with Crohn’s!  THAT’s why God let you have Crohn’s mom!”

And as she was saying this, she was pointing her finger at me, and basically….preaching!

And you know what?  I believe that she heard God in her heart.  I believe that God speaks to my daughter, and I love it that at only 7, she is learning to listen to his quiet voice inside of her.

I also know that in the bible it says, “by his stripes you were healed.”  This Crohn’s is not something that God wants me to have.  It is a foreign invader that does not belong in my body.  I know that he has already healed me, and now I just need to wait for that manifestation.  Yes, that might not happen until I die.  But God always has a plan.  His plan for my life right now is to find new foods to feed myself, my family, and share with those around me.  In doing that, I can love those around me, care for them, and show them the love of God.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 6, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
