RSS

The small things…

11 Sep

In the past, if I had an ache in my side, or a headache, I would just ignore it and move on.  I have a fairly high pain-tolerance, and usually don’t put much stock in what my body is telling me.  I’m a stubborn kind of farm girl who has usually been able to muscle through the aches and pains of life.  🙂

But with Crohn’s, I can’t do that anymore.  Yes, I can choose to ignore what my body is telling me.  But that really isn’t the most wise thing to do.  For instance, if my side is hurting, it could mean that the Crohn’s inflammation is acting up, and I need to eat softer, more easily digested foods.  If I ignore it, it won’t simply go away, and likely will get worse.  So I’m forced to slow down, listen to what my body is telling me, and stop being so stubborn.

Sigh…. You can take the girl out of the farm, but you can’t take the farm…..well, you know.  🙂

The last 2 weeks-ish I’ve had off and on aches on the right side.  A few shooters of pain, but mostly just a dull-ache.  I woke up to that ache this morning.  The right side is where the Crohn’s was active in the colonoscopy.  I use the pain in my side as a partial gauge as to how things are going.  I’m always careful with what I eat, but if it’s acting up, or going towards a flare, I pay special attention.  I’m getting a little concerned about it, simply because it’s not gone away.  There have also been more stomach noises….those annoying “coffee gurgles” that just rumble and don’t go anywhere.  That plus a bit more gas, has peaked my attention.  These symptoms have been occasional at the most the last 9 months, so to have 2 weeks of on-again-off-again activity is unusual.  It also affects my eating….I’m simply not hungry much, or then get so hungry I want (but don’t) munch on anything in sight.  I hear of people with Crohn’s in months-long flares, and that’s not something I want to get into at all.

With school starting and all the other things of life, my stress level has been up.  I know that stress can exacerbate it.  At this point in time, there’s not a whole lot more I can do to temper that.  I haven’t been eating new things (my new recipes all have things I know I can eat….well, at least I KNEW I could eat in the past!), and haven’t really changed much else.

I guess it’s just a wonderful reminder that inside of me lurks this army of a disease that waits in the perfect ambush for the right time to attack.  The good guys inside of me are weak from the constant sneak attacks and can only put up a small fight, let along mount any sort of counter-offensive.  They hunker down in their foxholes like Charlie Sheen in “Platoon” and just wait for morning, hoping that someone will still be alive when he sun comes out. 

*melodramatic moment over….back to life* 

🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 11, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
