RSS

Working out a “flare”

18 Sep

I’m not sure what the definition of a “flare” is, but my guess is that it’s an increase in Crohn’s activity/symptoms.  That’s where I’ve been for most of the month of September and last part of August.  It hasn’t been that bad.  Some increased gas and gurgles, mostly.  However, last Saturday I woke up with a dull ache under my ribs on the right side- where the inflammation is in my colon.  I have never had an ache like this since my diagnosis in November, so this made me sit up and take notice.  Not really painful, but definately…..there.  I ended up having that ache for about 6 days (4 of which were constant, the last 2 were off and on) before it went away altogether.  I also lost 3 pounds in one week, likely due to my body not absorbing the necessary nutrients while in this “flare.” 

So, with the ache present, I decided I needed to do something in order to get the symptoms to decrease to normal levels again.  Starting on the day the ache started, I ate eggs for breakfast, usually my homemade Chicken soup for lunch, and soft foods for dinner.  I was very careful to eat only fruits and veggies that were cooked very well, and were very soft.  I also didn’t eat much of meats that were tough or might be difficult to digest, and had my homemade yogurt a couple times during the “flare.”  All in all, I stayed with foods that I know were easy for my system to digest in order to give my gut a rest, and a chance to decrease the inflammation.

It worked.  The ache, like I said, lasted a good 4 days, with occasional aches for 2 days afterwards.  All other symptoms are slowly going away as well.  I’m still taking it easy, and trying to make sure my fruits and veggies are soft-cooked.  But overall, I’m feeling a lot better.  It could have been worse, but I am glad that it happened so far into this diet, so that I had a good handle on what I could eat and couldn’t eat in order to help my body rest.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 18, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

One response to “Working out a “flare”

  1. Anonymous

    September 20, 2010 at 4:30 am

    Its not fun when flare! Be careful what you eat. I tend to forget that I am sick when I feel better. Keep up with the blog. Its a good journal and for others to learn.

     

Leave a Reply

 
