RSS

Not smart, but oh so good…

21 Sep

Hi.  My name is Pam, and it’s been 10 months since I’ve had my last Starbucks latte.  I am a coffee junkie.  It all started when I was 15, and I started drinking coffee to keep me awake while working at McDonald’s.  From there, I ran the college coffee-house for 3 years.  Every night, from 8-12 or later, I would sit around talking and studying, drinking coffee.  The caffeine doesn’t do anything to me now.  Really.  I just love the taste.  I tried tea for six months, but that just didn’t do it.  There is just something about the flavor and aroma of coffee that I cannot live without.

Yesterday, I broke down.  Some good news had come my way, and to celebrate I decided it was time to see if I could handle a latte again.  I’m not supposed to drink any sort of milk (something to do with it not agreeing with my stomach), but thought I might as well give it a try.  I deserved it!

I only ordered a short (8 oz) drink with one shot of espresso and the rest steamed half-and-half.  It was even the same half-and-half that I use in my yogurt!  It wasn’t that bad of a mess-up, truly.

That first sip was pure heaven.  If I wasn’t sitting in my car I would have jumped for joy.  I groaned, and tears came to my eyes.  You just have no idea how amazing it feels when you’ve been denied something for so long, and then to get just a small taste of it again.

I’m hooked.

I did pay for my decision later.  I’ve learned my lesson.

Within an hour my stomach was gurgling, hurting, and gassy.  I guess even that little amount of cream was too much.

Do I regret it?

NO!!!

Like I said….it was heaven, pure heaven.

🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
