RSS

So….why do I write?

09 Oct

Today as I was driving through the rain I asked myself, “why do I write?”  Is it some attempt to gain sympathy over our plight?  Is it to politically expose what is wrong with our society?  Or do I just not have anyone else to share with, and so I share it with the world?

Well, none of the above.

I write for two reasons.

The first is to encourage people to not hide in their houses, but to be open and real and share their lives with others.  We’ve been given a voice (the only creatures on this earth with this unique ability), and I believe our God does not want us to be silent.  In sharing our lives with others, we can encourage, love, and build each other up.  These are not easy times.  If we close ourselves off from those around us, we will not make it.  We need each other, and if in sharing my story I can encourage others to open up and be real, then that’s what I’ll do.

The second reason is this:  I believe that God will save us.  I believe that His grace is going to rain down upon my family.  I believe that our financial situation will turn around, at any moment. Things have gotten so far down that there is no earlthy or humanly way for us to get out of this.  The ONLY way is through God’s grace pouring into our lives.  We have stayed strong through this trial because we believe that, ultimately, we serve a God who LOVES us, wants to bless us, and will take care of us no matter what.  WHEN God does raise us up out of this plight, I want there to be a record of where we’ve been.  I want you, the reader, to know the impossibility of our situation because you’ve journeyed there with us, through my writing.  I want there to be NO question of what’s gone on.  Then, when God saves us, you will know that we didn’t do it.  We will not be able to take ANY credit for it at all, because there would have been NO WAY that we could have done it.

Let me be perfectly clear:  I serve the one and only God.  The God of this Universe.  The God that makes all things possible.  The God that loved me so much that he gave up his Son Jesus for me.  I believe in His ability to save.  I believe that it is only possible by his grace, poured out to us through the sacrifice of his Son.  Without this belief, I would have given up long ago on this life.  It is only through faith that we still stand.  Faith in the ONLY being who deserves our praise.  God WILL rescue us. Of that I am certain.  When He does, I hope that by sharing my story you too will believe in Him, and trust him in your own life.

We are in an impossible situation.

The only way out is through faith in My God, who makes the impossible, possible.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 9, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

One response to “So….why do I write?

  1. March Picker

    October 11, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    Amen! Beautifully written. Keep writing and shining the light!

     

Leave a Reply

 
