RSS

Where do you stand?

12 Oct

I ask….where do you stand?

Where do you stand about society today?

What do you stand upon?

I myself stand upon the Rock that is My God.  First and foremost.

Now, if you are not a believer, please don’t stop reading there.  I don’t say that to condemn you, nor to point fingers, or to push my “religion” on you.  I just say that to state the first, and most important, part in my life.

The second is that I stand upon the fact that I am an American.  I was born here, raised here, and hopefully will die here.

Guess what?  America was founded on grit and heart and God.  We were founded by people who wanted something different, and who were not afraid to seek that, stand up for it, and fight for it.

The economy is in shambles these days.  Plenty of people will tell you that.  Just look around your neighborhood.  On our little 3 block two-street neighborhood I can drive by six houses either in foreclosure or already owned by the bank.  I can name countless other people that I know who are hurting.  I don’t know a single person or family that has not been touched these days, and has had to look at their lives and see where they can change.

But here’s the crux of the matter:  when things go bad, what do you stand upon?

Are you from the “give me everything” culture and sit in front of your tv bemoaning the fact that you have nothing to eat, when a job might be just around the corner?

Are you an American of the old days?  Are you willing to dig deeper into yourself, and see how you can make it work?  When the going gets tough, are you willing to grit your teeth and take a stronger hold, unwilling to just let everything “pass away” without a fight?

I’m an American.  And I will stand up proudly and say that.  I still get teary when Lee Greenwood sings, “I’m Proud to be an American.”  And I’m not afraid to say that!

Why?

Because plenty of people built this nation on their guts, and God, alone.  They came here wanting something, and they worked for it.  America is a place of freedom, and opportunity.  Yes, our economy stinks right now.  But guess what?  It’s not the first time, and it likely won’t be the last.  I admire the immigrants of ages past that came with nothing, and built everything.  That strength and fortitude is simply amazing.

I’m going to stand upon the fact that I’m an American.

I’m not going to go down without a fight.

I love my God, and my country.  I have been given much to be thankful for.

I will not just sit here and complain.

I will dig my feet in, and keep going.

This country is the greatest in the world.  We have our problems, but we have so much!

I’m an American.  People have died for me.

I’m an American.  People have slaved for me.

I’m an American.  People have sacrificed for me.

I’m an American.  People have served me.

I’m an American.

I will dig deep.

I will not give up without a fight.

I will overcome, because that is in our nature, as a people……as a country.

I will stand upon this name, America, because of all that it stands for.  It stands for freedom.  It stands for peace.  It stands for truth.  It stands for guts.  It stands for “get-it-done” attitudes.  It stands for strength.  It stands for sacrifice.  It stands for hard work.

When the going gets tough, what do you stand upon?

Stand with me, as Americans.

Look around you.

You are not the only one.

Reach out a hand, and help someone in need.

Become a community again, one that cares for each other.

Build upon our strengths, and help each other in our weaknesses.

We built this country together.  No one man did it.  No one man can tear it apart.

We are so much stronger as a whole than we are apart.

I’m an American.

What are you?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 12, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
