RSS

Beans!

15 Oct

How’s that song go?  “Beans, beans, the musical fruit.  The more you eat, the more you toot.  The more you toot….”  Well, you know the rest!  Let’s just say there was some music going on in my house last night, and no one was playing the piano!

Anywhooooo…………  🙂

Beans are a more advanced food on my diet.  I’ve been on it for 11 months, and so decided I could try them.  Apparently, my system cannot digest them yet.  3 hours after eating a nice big helping of my oh-so-yummy Jambalaya the gas started to come.  It continued through the rest of the evening, though it was never painful.  So far this morning, it seems to have gone away.  There isn’t really much pain, but at times I have this dread that my bowels are going to explode at any minute!  It’s not the worst reaction I’ve had to something, but it’s enough that the next time I make Jambalaya I’ll forgo the beans.  I’ll wait a few weeks before I make the Jambalaya again just to make sure it wasn’t the other ingredients.

There also might be a “safe” bean to try for me, instead of the red kidney beans.  I’ll do some more research and see what that could be, and then maybe do an isolated test with just the beans themselves.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 15, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
