RSS

Basic Almond Flour Cookies :)

17 Oct

Today I was craving something baked, warm, sweet, and bread-like.  Most of the recipes I have call for 4 eggs, and I didn’t have that on hand, so I decided to venture out on a limb and create something myself!  I’ve learned that most baked almond flour recipes have these ingredients in common:  almond flour, salt, eggs, baking soda, honey.  You can add vanilla too, which I often do because I’ve made my own recently and LOVE the taste of vanilla!  With this recipe, I wanted to work towards a cookie, and so knew the consistency I needed.  I’m sure there are ways to improve on this, but here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons honey (I like sweet stuff….add less if you want, or more!)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 egg

Preparation:

I have discovered that for any almond flour baked goodie to be light and have a good thick consistency (not runny), I need to whip them first.  So, I took the egg, and whipped it for about 2 minutes.  I then added the salt, baking soda, honey, vanilla, and butter and whipped them until well mixed.  I then added the almond flour and mixed until well blended.  The consistency was thick, and perfect for dropping on a cookie sheet.  I dropped them by spoonfuls onto a baking sheet and baked them for 8 minutes at 350.  This made a dozen cookies.

I will add a touch more vanilla and honey next time to increase the flavor.  These ones were good, but I want them sweeter.  Otherwise, I am very happy with the recipe.  The consistency and flavor are both what I was desiring today.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 17, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, Dessert, Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
