RSS

WFD: Fajitas and apples

19 Oct

I’m starting a new category on my blog titled, “What’s for Dinner.”  In it I’ll be posting the menu I serve on certain nights, along with recipes.  My hope is that it gives people ideas on how to feed their families healthy meals that incorporate more fresh foods instead of high-processed crud.

I had picked up a ton of small green peppers from the food bank last week, and needed to do something with them.  So, I decided to make fajitas last night.  I made the meat, veggies, salsa, and tortillas according to my diet.  The rest of the family had flour tortillas for their fajitas.  Since everything else was going to be warm, I served cool Granny Smith Apple slices as a side.  That was it!  The picture is my fajita that I assembled, and will tell you about later in this post.  Yum!

Flank Steak: I marinated the flank steak for about an hour with a mixture of oil, garlic, onions, hot peppers, salt, and pepper.  I turned the steak a few times to get a good coating on each side.  I then thew it on the BBQ for about 20 minutes and sliced it thin to serve.

Veggies: I took green peppers and onions and sautéed them in the leftover marinade from the flank steak.  This took about 5 minutes as my family wouldn’t eat them if they were too crispy.

Salsa: I cut up and mixed together two small tomatoes, one small green pepper, 1/2 of a small hot pepper, 1 tablespoon white onion, and 1 garlic clove.  I then added 1 tablespoon dried cilantro, oregano, thyme, and salt and pepper to taste.  Last I added 1 tablespoon each white vinegar and honey, mixed well, and let it sit in the fridge for an hour so the flavors could mix.

Tortillas: For legal tortillas using almond flour, I added 1/3 cup almond flour with 1 egg and water (a few tablespoons) until the consistency was somewhat runny.  I then added a pat of butter to a hot pan and poured a small amount in to cover the bottom of the pan.  I cooked it until I could flip it.  This made two small tortillas, but probably could have made three.

My fajita (pictured): For my fajita, I set the tortilla open-faced on my plate, and slathered a good amount of dripped yogurt (which to me tastes like sour cream!) all over the bottom.  I then layered a few strips of flank steak, veggies, salsa, and olives on top of that, in that order.  I topped it off with a bit of cheddar cheese.  It was….amazing!

Review: This dinner took me about 1 1/2 hours to prepare because I was doing it all on the fly….creating as I went.  Next time I’ll try to think ahead more.  I wanted a more bold flavor in the salsa and with the meat, but overall the taste was very satisfying!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 19, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, What's for Dinner

 

Leave a Reply

 
