RSS

Hunger

22 Oct

A problem that I encounter every now and again with this Crohn’s is being extremely hungry.  In a normal world, this would not pose much of a problem for anyone.  Simply open up the fridge or the cupboard, pick something to eat, and chow down.

Not gonna happen here, at least not for a while.

I’m still in the phase of needing to make all my food.  I don’t know many “processed” foods that I can eat, which means when I get to one of those days where my stomach is screaming, there’s really not a whole lot I can do about it.  I had one of those days earlier this week.  In addition to the hunger, it often is accompanied by extreme fatigue.  Try handling everything being a mom with after-school kids entails after a day of work in the public school and being totally spent!!!  I usually can muscle through the exhaustion, but it’s just not very easy!  🙂

Why am I so extreme on what I eat?  Basically, the person behind my diet believes that gut problems like mine stem having too much “junk” in our systems.  This often comes from the overprocessed starchy/sugary foods that our bodies ingest so much of in our society.  The bad guys in the gut just love to feast on those types of foods, so in order to restore balance, you starve them out and take away all the crud.  How out-of-control in our society is this “adding things to” and “processing” our foods?  Take this as an example:  Did you know that Dole canned pineapple juice is now fortified with Vitamins A and E?  Sounds great, right?  Except for the fact that they use cornstarch as a binding agent for the Vitamin A.  Cornstarch is one of those things the bad guys in my gut love to feast on.  So, something that seems perfectly okay, now can send someone with a compromised gut into a nasty flare.

Pretty ridiculous, don’t you think?

It just goes to show how much of our society has gotten away from natural foods.  I know a lot of people who are going back to canning and preserving their foods, which I think is awesome.  I honestly do love the way I eat now.  I feel so good about what I’m putting into my body.  I simply am looking forward to the day when I have lots of foods on hand that I can eat at a moment’s notice, and not have to think about making something when I am in one of those “hungry” modes.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 22, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
