RSS

Yikes!

03 Nov

Just over a year ago I weighed in at almost 200 pounds.  I tried everything to get the weight off:  diet, personal trainer, days spent in the gym, supplements.  Nothing would work, at all.  I was stuck with the weight that I had gained from being pregnant.  I even went to the doctor to ask what was wrong because I wasn’t eating much, I was going to the gym almost every day, and still could barely shed a pound.  The doc just looked at me like I was crazy, and suggested lap-band surgery.  I looked back at him and said, “I don’t have a big appetite to begin with.  I eat one egg and one piece of toast for breakfast.  How much less do you want me to eat???”  He just looked back and refused to believe that there could be anything wrong with me physically.  It MUST be that I was eating too much or not being active enough.

Well, fast forward a year, and I’ve lost 58 pounds.  I weigh less now than I did all through college.  In fact, I can’t remember the last time I fit into a size 10 pair of jeans!  I love the way my body looks.  Another few pounds and I’ll be into a size 8, which seems incredible to think about to me!

I would love to tell you that it was hard work in the gym that made the difference, but if you’ve read my blog, you know that’s not true.  I will credit a LOT of my weight loss to my diet.  Simply cutting out all the processed crap I think helped my body readjust, shed what it didn’t need, and start using effectively what it did need.

The other portion of it is, of course, the Crohn’s.  For some people with Crohn’s it doesn’t work like this.  They can’t seem to lose the weight at all, and on a diet like I am on, have to really watch the full-fat items and the nut-flour baked goods so the weight doesn’t creep up.  For me?  It’s kinda nice that my body is doing what it’s doing, because I can eat all the butter and honey and other high-calorie/high-fat foods, and it does nothing to me!  That’s probably in large part due to my body not absorbing all that I put in, which leaves me energy-depleted many days and extremely hungry on the other days.

I wouldn’t wish Crohn’s on anyone.  I miss my Starbucks latte and I miss chocolate and cake and cookies and white bread and eating greasy food at a fast food restaurant.  I can still lose another 10 pounds and be safe, I think.  I’m working on getting more the nutrition in my diet that will stabilize things, but that’s so hard.  Too much of one thing can send my system into fits, and I often just don’t have the time to cook a variety and large quantity of things. So I go hungry, and get tired, and the scale goes down even lower.

What can I do about the weight loss, and try to stem the tide?  Well, I made a batch of cinnamon rolls last night.  I ate 3 of them before the end of dinner, and then scraped the gooey honey and butter mixture off the bottom of the plate.  That’s a good start.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
