RSS

WFD: Almond-flour Chicken Fingers

08 Nov

Last night I tried another recipe from my new cookbook:  “The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook.”  This time I tried the Chicken Fingers, and they were amazing!  (The picture is of my plate last night…the first serving.)  My family doesn’t do well when I put something too weird in front of them, and so I keep looking for “Crohn’s safe” recipes that don’t rock the boat too much.  Even my husband thought this one was great!  Along with the chicken, I served baked applesauce, cauliflower-cheddar mashed potatoes, and steamed veggies.  Again, I did not serve your normal bread side-dish with this meal as I feel that is an unnecessary component, and my family didn’t miss it at all!

Chicken Fingers: This recipe is pretty standard, how you would make any fried chicken fingers.  The differences were that I used grapeseed and olive oils in the pan, and almond flour for the crust.  This is so much healthier than using white flour or saltine crackers for the crust.  I found the trick to getting a good crisp crust on these was to only turn them once, halfway through the approximately 8 minutes cooking time.

Cauliflower Cheddar Mashed Potatoes: I used to love mashed potatoes, and so this is a great substitute for me.  I simply take a head of cauliflower and steam it until soft.  Drain the water off.  I added 1/4 cup real butter (not margarine!) and a dollop of my homemade yogurt, and then blended it thoroughly with my immersion blender.  At first these were pretty tasteless, so I had to add approximately 2 teaspoons each of salt and pepper.  Once everything was well blended and smooth, I added about 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese and stirred that in.  The result is something that has a texture similar to mashed potatoes, and doesn’t miss the mark too much on flavor.  Next time maybe I’ll put some chives and bacon bits in it, and see if I can create an “overloaded baked potato” flavor.  🙂

Baked Applesauce: This is a variation of my normal baked apples.  With this I cut up 4 or 5 apples, it doesn’t matter which kind, and place them in a pan.  I’ll drizzle about 1/4 cup or less honey on top, and sprinkle with cinnamon.  I bake it for about 30 minutes at 350, and then stir when it’s done.  The apples sometimes fall apart, and sometimes not.
If I want a more “applesauce” consistency I’ll mash the apples up really well, or throw the whole thing in my blender.  Either way, it’s a good way to eat apples as it feels like dessert and not your fruit serving.  🙂

Steamed Veggies: Well, this is pretty standard, so I don’t need to write much on this.  I buy the big bag of veggies from Costco, “Broccoli Normandy,” for those nights I don’t want to be fancy.  My family loves the combination of veggies and will gobble them up!

Review: This dinner was a huge success!  I was able to fill my plate up (a semi-rare treat for me!), and the kiddos really liked it.  I’m finding myself now making about 2 dinners a week that have just meat, veggies, and fruit.  If the table seems like it will be a bit bare, I just think through fixing another veggie or serving another fruit, like I did tonight.  My goal is to wean my family off of the processed white/wheat bread, and their body’s addiction to that.  I think we all do better without that stuff in our system!  I know my kids eat that stuff at school everyday for lunch, but if I can at least get one good meal in them a day, I am happy.  I know my cooking is simple at this point in time, but I hope I’m giving you ideas on how you can change things, little by little, towards healthier eating.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2010 in Crohn's Journal, What's for Dinner

 

Leave a Reply

 
