RSS

Fried dough!!!

09 Nov

Oh….My….Gosh….

I have not had a donut in over a year.  In looking through one of my recipe sources yesterday, I found one for fried dough.  Of course, I had to try it….

Basically you take a almond flour pancake recipe, and modify it a bit.  I added 2 tbsp honey to 2 eggs, and blended them well together.  Then I added 1/2 cup plus a titch of almond flour, 1/8 tsp salt, and 1/8 tsp baking powder.  Mix until well blended.  Then, I turned the pan on to medium (too hot will burn these), and added about 1/2 an inch of canola oil.  The dough was still pretty runny, but when I dropped a spoonful into the hot oil, it formed a perfect circle.  I fried them for just a minute or two on each side, and then let them drain on a napkin covered plate.

They reminded me of silver dollar pancakes, but fried.  🙂  This one recipe made about 20 (which are already gone…before lunchtime!).  I served them to my kids as “donuts” and sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar on top.  They loved them!  Each kid had four, and probably would have had more.  🙂

This is something I will definitely keep in my file for a special treat.  They really remind me of donuts, and are oh so delicious.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
