RSS

Turkey Day Blues

28 Nov

Oh….that hurt!  I had hoped that, after being on this diet for over a year, my gut could handle just a teeny bit of an illegal.  Guess not……

I made a ham for my family.  I know that the ham was cured with mainly water and dextrose.  Dextrose is simply….a sugar.  I have not had any sugar of that type on my system for a year.  It doesn’t make sense to me as to how this could affect me, but obviously something did, and I can only point to the ham as being the culprit.  I ate quite a bit of the ham, as anyone does on a holiday such as Thanksgiving, and I paid for it later.

An hour or so after dinner, I had some seriously painful gas cramps running through my gut.  They weren’t just localized, which is what might normally happen if I accidentally had a small amount of an illegal.  No, this was a system-wide pain running the length (it seemed) of my colon and lasting for a decent amount of time.  Everything felt tight, and just didn’t feel “right” the rest of the night.  The next day I could still feel that something was off.  I didn’t have D, but had a lot more BM’s than normal.  For me, those are the things that signal my system was not able to handle whatever I put into it.

I thought that maybe, just maybe, I could get away with it.  Nope.

This diet….this disease….can be ugly.  I’m a little disappointed, simply because this tells me that I really need to be careful, still, and can’t let my guard down.

BUT……..

That ham was really good!!!  I guess it was worth it, for that short amount of time, to feel normal again with what I eat.  I’d do it again, sure.

But I won’t, and didn’t, eat any of the ham for leftovers.  One day of discomfort was enough for me!!!  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
