RSS

Thankfulness (by Jacob, age 6)

19 Dec

I recently found something that my son, a first grader, wrote in school for Thanksgiving.  I had unpacked it from his bag and set it on the counter, meaning to read it sometime soon.  A few weeks later, as I was decorating for Christmas, I found it, and what he wrote blessed my heart so much I wanted to share.

Jacob was supposed to write about the things he is thankful for.  Among the normal things a 6 year-old boy would say like candy and toys, he put some deep heart things in.  He said he was thankful for his shelter and food, his teacher and school.  And his last line says, “But most of all, I am thankful for my family.”

Even now, reading it here, I almost cry thinking of his little heart writing these things.  We have not shared a lot with the kids about our money issues right now, but we’ve told them some.  They know things are tight, but that God keeps giving us what we need, like a roof over our head and food in our bellies.  And they know, from their experiences in Mexico helping the kids this summer, that they are truly blessed.

I know plenty of first grade kids that would list their XBox, their IPod, their new scooter, the exact pillow pets they wanted…..all these material things that they are thankful for.

Yet, my son can see the blessing of a warm house and food in his belly and a family who loves him beyond measure.  Simple things that many people take for granted.

Our Christmas will be a good one this year.  Not because our tree is full of presents.  It’s not.  But because we have family.  We have food.  We have a house.  We have a Savior who was born for us.

I’ve learned a lesson from my 6 year-old this week: to look beyond the material, and see all that we have been blessed with.

What are the blessings you’ve been given?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 19, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

One response to “Thankfulness (by Jacob, age 6)

  1. heather b

    December 19, 2010 at 2:35 am

    Wonderful!! Thank you so much for sharing this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
