RSS

Apple Crisp

03 Jan

This is a very basic recipe that I just love!  I haven’t gotten it right yet, but the little tweaks needed are likely due to my oven.  Here is what I do, and you can adjust however you like!

In an 8×8 in inch pan I cut up about 5-6 apples into semi-narrow slices (I find that Braeburn, Gala, or Fuji apples have a great flavor for this, but any apples would likely work just fine).  I like my apple crisp to be deep, so usually I cut up apples until the pan in 3/4 full (the apples will cook down a bit).  I melt some butter and honey in the microwave, add some spices (I like cinnamon, nutmeg, and/or allspice) and pour it over the apples.  I’ve done this without flavoring the apples before, and it was a bit bland.  You can always add more or less spices/butter/honey depending on your taste.

I then mix up a batch of this master crumble and sprinkle it over the top:

http://heal-balance-live.blogspot.com/2009/10/master-crumbfruit-crisptopping-mix.html

I’ve found that in my oven I need to bake this at around 300-325 for 45-60 minutes, and watch it carefully.  The tendency for this recipe is for the top to brown quickly and the apples to not get done, so you’ll just have to play around with temperature and time.

Here is a link for SCD-legal whipped cream.  I made this the day before the apple crisp, and whipped it up the day of.  It stayed just fine in my fridge for those 3 days!  My daughter also loves it when I do a “berry parfait” with this whipped cream, alternating layers of frozen berries and whipped cream.  Yummy!

http://heal-balance-live.blogspot.com/2009/06/how-to-make-scd-whipped-cream.html

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 3, 2011 in Crohn's Journal, Dessert

 

Leave a Reply

 
