RSS

Weight….gain???

03 Jan

Yep, that’s right.  After over a year of continuous weight loss resulting in 60 pounds gone, I have finally put some pounds back on!  Normally, I would not celebrate this.  And in actuality, I don’t really like these 4 pounds that I’ve put on.  BUT….with Crohn’s causing a serious issue with my system NOT absorbing the nutrition it needs (as well as a fat malabsorption problem), this could mean that my body is correcting another aspect that was seriously wrong a year ago, which would be way cool.

OR…….

It could be the batch of cinnamon rolls that I ate, in 4 days.  They had 3 cups of almond flour, a cup of honey, and a cup of butter in the recipe.

OR……..

It could have been the chocolate cake that I ate in the 2 days following the cinnamon rolls.  That had mainly majool dates, but it also had 1/2 a cup of cocoa butter….pure fat.

OR……..

It could have been the DOUBLE recipe of apple crisp that I ate in the 3 days after the chocolate cake.  That had 4 cups of almonds flour in the topping, along with lots of honey and butter.  AND, don’t forget the heavy whipping cream that I made into SCD-legal whipped cream, and lathered on top of the apple crisp….each and every time.

Ah well……. 🙂

I enjoyed myself over this holiday season.  Even with Crohn’s, I was able to find things to make and enjoy, and I didn’t feel left out in any of the festivities.

Now, I’ll just need to be good for a few weeks and see if these 4 pounds can go back away!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

2 responses to “Weight….gain???

  1. TI

    January 3, 2011 at 4:45 am

    Where can I get the recipe for the cinnamon rolls, chocolate cake, and apple crisps? Also, where do I find cocoa butter…searched a few stores and came up empty.

    Enjoy reading your blog. Thanks and Happy New Year!

     
  2. newfoundsun

    January 3, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    The cinnamon roll recipe can be found here on my blog: https://newfoundsun.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/cinnamon-rolls/ . In that post I also have a link to the original recipe. I’ll post the apple crisp and chocolate cake soon, so keep watching! I bought the cocoa butter from http://www.chocolatealchemy.com/ . I looked and looked everywhere around me, but couldn’t find it, so finally bought it online.

    Thanks so much. I’m glad you enjoy reading it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
