RSS

BF, Day 3

05 Jan

Sometimes, the house needs to crumble to its foundation before God can rebuild it.

I’m reading Haggai right now as part of this fast.  I was led there on day 1, and decided to read the rest of it, short though it is.  There is much to ponder in this short book.

The temple of God had been destroyed, and God tells his people it is time to rebuild.  In chapter 2, verses 7-9 it says:

This is what God-of-the-Angel-Armies said: ‘Before you know it, I will shake up sky and earth, ocean and fields.  And I’ll shake down all the godless nations.  They’ll bring bushels of wealth and I will fill this Temple with splendor.’  God-of-the-Angel-Armies says so.  ‘I own the silver, I own the gold.’

‘This Temple is going to end up far better than it started out, a glorious beginning but an even more glorious finish; a place in which I will hand out wholeness and holiness.’  (The Message, edits mine)

As I sat pondering these verses today, a small smile crept over my face.

It seems that our own house is crumbling right now, both physically and literally.  So many things seem to be falling apart in this old house, but we can’t take the resources to fix it.  With the rest of our things, it seems they are slowly toppling over too.  In two weeks we might have to hand over the keys to my car because we can’t make the car payments.  That leaves us with one car, two jobs, and two kids that need to get to school each day.  We are not sure what we will do.

But…..I have faith that God-of-the-Angel-Armies is on our side.  Like he said here in Haggai….he’s going to rebuild our house, our lives, better than they were before.  We trust in that.

Sometimes the house needs to crumble in order for God to remake it anew, filled with HIS splendor and riches, and not those of our own making.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
