RSS

Flare…ugh!

17 Jan

Well, I think I am officially in a flare, minor though it might be compared to other Crohnies.  It’s still a lot more than what I usually have to deal with, and so it’s a bit disconcerting.  It started a few days back with some minor right side pain, and has steadily increased.  Yesterday I had one of the worst cramps yet.  It lasted for a good 20 seconds and had me doubled over taking short breaths until it passed.  Most of this afternoon my right side is tight….the same area where the Crohn’s was located.  It feels right on the verge of going really bad.  SO…..I’ve had to think back and see if there is anything I’ve done differently, or anything else that could a trigger to bring this on.

The first is stress, and I’m sure that has played a part.  Enough said for now.  There’s just no way around it.

In terms of food, if I start to have a reaction, I evaluate a few things:

  • Have I had too much almond-flour baked goods?  An overload of something that’s good can cause a reaction just as something with bad stuff!  But no, I have not been over-indulging in those type of things lately.
  • Neither have I had much of raw nuts or an excess of nut butters.  Since nuts can be hard to digest, that is something I look at in all it’s forms.  I don’t think that’s the issue.
  • The most obvious….have I eaten anything I shouldn’t?  Well, I don’t think so.  I’ve stopped my food journal and am now just keeping a symptom journal.  But I know on a whole I’m eating 99.9% the way I supposed to, so I don’t believe I had anything illegal that would trigger something.
  • Have I introduced any new foods?  This is a big key with Crohn’s, if you are treating it with diet.  It can take 4 days or more for a food to get through your system, and so you need to be aware of new foods you try and any symptoms that might occur in the days following.  I did get a new coffee last week, just before this started.  SO….that might be the culprit.  It is an organic shade-grown blend, unflavored, so you would think it was okay.  But with Crohn’s…..you just never know!
  • Have I had too much raw food?  Well….yes.  This past week I’ve had a LOT more raw fruits than normal, and I’m thinking that might be a big culprit.  I was very careful in the past to cook my apples and not eat much other raw fruit, and I think that might have been too much.  I’ve also eaten a lot more dried fruit this week, which I’m guessing is harder to digest.

So, all total, there are a few things that could have caused this.  My main complaint this afternoon and evening is a tightness in my right side that borders on pain.  I’m being very cautious because it feels like if I just turn the wrong way it might cause a sharp shooter of pain.  I’ve been very careful yesterday and today in what I’ve eaten, but I need to go even further.

Tomorrow, and actually starting right now, I’m going to be eating a lot more soup and lessen the other foods.  I’m probably taking out beef until this goes away.  And I’ll probably get some more fish, so I can eat soup, fish, chicken, and fully cooked fruits and veggies.  We’ll see how long it takes my system to get over it.

I hope it’s soon!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

4 responses to “Flare…ugh!

  1. Albert Snow

    January 19, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    It sounds as though you have a pretty good handle on the diet. With my experience is is best if you eat NO raw fruit/vegs- nuts- seeds or especially corn. the reason is that you still have “open” tissue in there & dragging “roughage” through there is just going to inflame it.
    Have you tried rebuilding your mucosal lining?
    Also if I may make an additional comment- you can’t eat your way into or out of any of the Inflammatory Bowel Conditions. Please look back & try to remember if you had used any anti-biotics t any time prior to your 1st symptoms-
    I hope this makes some sense to you & perhaps help in some way.

     
  2. newfoundsun

    January 19, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    Thank you Albert. I don’t eat corn, that’s illegal on the SCD. And, oddly enough, I’ve found from the beginning that I could eat most raw things, except for lettuce. I think great care and caution needs to be taken when eating those thing for, as you say, the tissue can still be raw and putting those things in could exacerbate things. But for me, so far, it’s only a problem if I over-induldge. 🙂

    I’m not sure what you mean by rebuilding the mucosal lining? I’m curious……

    And in terms of the antibiotics…..I generally would stay away from them and never took many other meds. I was however told to take 600 mg a day of Ibuprofin to help with “cramps” even though I had never had them in my life….ever (now I wonder if those “cramps” were not female in nature but the onset of IBD). This was from a Dr. at the local university. I believe my over-use of those could have led to the IBD getting to the point of Crohn’s.

     
  3. Albert Snow

    January 24, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    The mucosal lining is a natural- good bacterial culture that is supposed to live on the surface of your whole GI tract. It blocks stomach acids & roughage from making direct contact with the intestinal wall.
    this can be rebuilt -permanently with a good probiotic & something called colostrum- taking 2 each twice daily for approx 30 days.- Real reliable.

     
  4. newfoundsun

    January 25, 2011 at 1:07 am

    Ah…..

    I’ve been on a good probiotic since diagnosed. I do believe that there is a huge component to this disease that deals with the bacteria in the gut!

     

Leave a Reply

 
