RSS

Backward???

21 Jan

Well, not too many steps, I hope!  I’ve been doing pretty good this week keeping things simple and well-cooked in order to let my gut rest.  But today, I had a tough choice to make.  I was teaching in the a.m. at my kids’ school, and figured I would be home for lunch so didn’t pack anything.  About 10:30 I got a call from another teacher in the building asking if I could sub for her last-minute in the afternoon.  Well, that’s a good chunk of change, and so I said yes.  Only problem was that I lived 15 minutes away, did not have time to go home for food, and could eat virtually nothing in the cafeteria.  Knowing myself though, I knew I needed SOMETHING otherwise I would tank and not be functional in a teacher role.  So, I grabbed two apples and some more coffee, and forged ahead!

Thankfully the apples were a bit soft, not my favorite, but something easier still for me to digest.  Even with two apples and a pot of coffee, by the time school was over I was famished.  Again, nothing I could really do about it!  So when I got home I ate what I had….some almond-flour baked goods.

And of course, 90 minutes later I’m having a decent amount of gas.  I’m hopeful that this will just last tonight and will go through my system by tomorrow.

But again….I had no choice.  If I wanted to keep getting these calls to sub at a school that is VERY difficult to get requested for, I needed to be available.  And I couldn’t eat the starch/sugar laden things that were also in the cafeteria.  So I did the best I could, made some money, and am praying that it will all work out tonight and be fine by tomorrow!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
